Evening Pep Talk

“You had a big day today

Yes, you made some mistakes

You had some really big feelings, didn’t you?

There were some hard moments

But you did the best you could

It’s okay if it didn’t go quite how you wanted

And it’s okay if you needed some help 

We all need help sometimes

And we all make mistakes sometimes

Tomorrow is a new day, and you can try again

We’re all doing the best we can

And we’re all learning

And I love you, no matter what,”

I said

with compassion and forgiveness

to myself.


This piece is part of the #SOL24 March Slice of Life Story Challenge hosted by the Two Writing Teachers.

6 responses to “Evening Pep Talk”

    • Thank you! I have a 3.5 year old son, and we often talk about big feelings. I realized that I had some of my own very big feelings today (and maybe a tantrum?!) after a tough day, and it inspired me to talk to myself the way I might talk to him or my older son.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment