I Don’t Teach Writing

I must confess: a year ago, I wasn’t sure if this writing challenge was really for me. Yes, I am a teacher, and yes I wanted to try my hand at writing. I had an invitation and some encouragement, but still had some initial doubt.

You see, I don’t teach writing. I teach music.  

Yet, over time I have realized:

I don’t teach writing, but I do teach creative thinking and artistry. I teach expressiveness and improvisation. 

I don’t teach writing, but I do teach about being an audience and performing for your audience.  I teach about connecting with your listeners and fellow performers and the composer.

I don’t teach writing, but I do teach about style and genre and artistic choices. I teach tone and expression and voice.

I don’t teach writing, but I do teach about rhythm and pacing and flow and meter. I teach about starting slow, and building to an exciting moment with a crescendo.

I don’t teach writing, but I do teach music composition and literacy. I teach about making intentional choices of rhythm and melody, form and tone color, dynamics and tempo and meter and beat. 

I don’t teach writing, or the literary arts, but I do teach an expressive, creative art – the aural arts. I do teach young learners who learn to think critically and creatively and expressively through many different mediums and modalities.

I don’t teach writing, but I do teach music.

I am a teacher, and I teach young learners. I teach about connection and belonging and how we are more alike than we are different.  I am a creator, an artist, a thinker, a writer…and so are my students.

And besides – what is a song, if not its own little slice of life?

PS – Thank you to the amazing Slice of Life community for your encouragement, support, and welcome of all slicers and teachers! I love being part of this incredible community created by The Two Writing Teachers. I’m so grateful to slice with you!


This piece is part of the #SOL24 March Slice of Life Story Challenge hosted by the Two Writing Teachers.

6 responses to “I Don’t Teach Writing”

  1. You map out the overlap between writing and music so beautifully. I’m so glad you joined this challenge. It’s a treat to be part of an interdisciplinary writing ✍🏼 community.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I am so glad I joined, too. I love this opportunity to glimpse a day (or lesson or moment) in the life of a fellow teacher. What a great way to build community and compassion within the teaching community.

      Like

  2. I love your perspective as a music teacher and all the parallels you have made between writing and music. Your students are lucky to have such a thoughtful music teacher. I love seeing all your instruments in the background.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! One of the things I love about teaching music is that it does overlap so well with literature, culture, geography, art, math, etc etc etc. It’s fun to find these connections and to see students realizing these connections, too.

      Like

Leave a comment