Pen to Paper

Sometimes what we most need

Is to put our pen to paper

Or our feet to the pavement

Or our fingers to the piano keys 

Or our ear to the birdsong 

Or our face to the sun

Or our arms around our dear ones

Or our feet up before us

Or water to our lips

Or our toes in the sand 

Or our voice to song

Or our head upon the pillow

And to breathe deep 

And start anew


This piece is part of the #SOL24 March Slice of Life Story Challenge hosted by the Two Writing Teachers.

6 responses to “Pen to Paper”

  1. Saving this post! I want to print it out and hang it on my bathroom mirror for when I’m having those low moments. Great reminders ❤️

    Liked by 3 people

  2. A self-care list for us all! And a wonderful reminder that it’s okay to just pause and be,instead of trying to be all for everyone. I needed to read this today; thank you!

    Like

  3. I love this poem. The repetition is very effective, giving the poem musicality. It’s quite lovely. Now I’m thinking about other things we need, but I’m also thinking about silly things, too, such as the meme I saw today that says, “Marked safe today from buying a bible from the antichrist,” so I’ll add the need for laughter to that list.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment